Tags

persimmons, tomatoes, tangerines, potatoes

persimmons, tomatoes, tangerines, potatoes

Taking a deep breath and plunging right in, I just had to start with the luscious reds of the handfuls of persimmons and tomatoes bought today at our farmer’s market.  Can you believe those plump carmine tomatoes?!  Or, those unbelievable persimmons, so orangey pink-ish and lovely.  Today was my first taste of persimmon–the flesh is dense with a delicate perfume-y smell, and I don’t know how to best describe them but to say they might be distant cousins of guavas or papayas in flavor and texture.  Wish you were here to do a taste test with me, but what I really want to do is paint them.  My favorite persimmon association is with a beautiful Japanese ink painting of the fruit in shades of black to gray, by Mu-Ch’i.  This subtle painting demonstrates how each persimmon occupies its place in space according to the dark or light value of the ink.  My persimmon painting would be a color attempt to capture the unattainable orange.

a little more red...

a little more red...

