One of my fall projects has been literally ‘window dressing,’  that is, taking down the temporary paper blinds that covered the windows when we moved into our new house.  There is something pleasing and simple about these white accordion folded paper shades, but they are useful only if one never needs them to go up or down.  The kids have turned all of the little plastic clothespin-type clips that hold them in place into playthings, and wrinkled or torn the paper in the process.  I have in mind to use the large sheets of folded paper for my next book project anyway.  So how to cover the windows?  Pulling out my fabric box and rummaging through it, brought to the surface a couple of hoarded treasures.  Namely, funky vintage curtains that I bought long ago at either a church rummage sale or a thrift store in Chicago.  Just the raw material I needed to make-over my windows.  At the same time I found a warm block-patterned cloth from India on e-bay, meant to be worn as a shawl or sarong, but perfect for the job of making half-curtains for my kitchen.  Using my ‘less-than-pro, why not eye-ball it’ approach to sewing, I stitched up sets of curtains for the kitchen and studio.

dining area curtains, Indian fabric

dining area curtains, Indian fabric

vintage curtain, my studio

Can you imagine the play-clothes Fraulein Maria would have made from these!?

Winter days mean that the sun shines at a much lower angle into our dining room at breakfast time, too bright for comfort.  Half-curtains won’t cut it for this season, so back to the sewing machine!  I had another set of old curtains, probably from the 1960’s, guessing by their bold colors and design, that I’d been thinking to turn into pillows.  On second thought, the heavy, canvas-like material was just what I needed for the breakfast area, and the crazy fruit design, perfectly set the mood.  Here’s what we ended up with:

breakfast room winter curtains

breakfast room winter curtains

vintage fruit-patterned curtains

vintage fruit-patterned curtains

