the writing is on the chalkboard

the writing is on the chalkboard

It's been a big week...

It's been a big week...

I’ve been thinking about 100 days, and how quickly they might pass, especially when one isn’t counting.  100 days, at  just over 3 months, could be a sunny long summer, a brief trimester of pregnancy, the blurry first few months of an infant’s life, or a far off seeming deadline that quickly approaches.  What can I hope and expect to accomplish in the next 100 days?  What really matters in my little world, or what could make a difference in the lives of the people around me?  I can only imagine the heavy pressures that a president must feel as the clock ticks and the days pass and the agendas keep getting longer, and the expectations of what that particular person must accomplish are always in the public eye.  Whew.  Rather than make impossible comparisons, I’m planning to begin counting off my own 100 days with the recognition that my life matters as part of a greater community, and though the ripples of my particular activities may not be as far reaching as the president’s, they do have an effect.

In our small world this is a big week as two of our children mark their birthdays, and their parents marvel at how fast they grow–it seems like only yesterday they were babes in arms!  Happy Birthdays guys!

chocolate cake, whipped cream and berry cream sauce

chocolate cake, whipped cream and berry cream sauce

Part of preparing for ‘whatever-it-is-that-I-will-get-done’ in the next few months has been creating another workspace for myself in our garage, and last week with the help of my painting crew, I made progress on that front.  There is still much to do– including setting up the right kind of lighting– but having a freshly painted and cleared workbench is a satisfying first step…

garage workbench

garage workbench

admiring their handiwork

admiring their handiwork

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8

