I’m so grateful for my friends, and the wonderful creative individuals they are.  These days, I rely on the phone and internet as a means of keeping in touch, even more after having moved twice in two years to new states on completely opposite sides of the country.  My intention in starting this blog was to try to keep the windows of communication open with loved ones by sharing the pictures and stories of our lives, hopefully with an emphasis on the creative .  With that in mind, a good friend and I are always dreaming up ways to correspond with each other, as well as ways for our children to be in contact.  A few weeks ago she directed me to this wonderful blog by another artisticly-minded mom, called Wise Craft on typepad, and an opportunity to join in an Artist Trading Card swap for kids.  Here’s the link to the page:
I loved the idea, and although I’ve never made any Artist Trading Cards, I have made correspondence art of others sorts, participated in artist’s book exchanges, collaborative books sent through the mail, etc.  I thought my 6 year old artist would like the idea of sending and receiving little art cards too–who doesn’t love getting real mail!?

Here’s what he did:

A horizontal seascape

A horizontal seascape

I had to laugh at myself, because even as I tried to gently steer the subject matter to something pleasant (“What about an ocean full of fish and the sky above it?”), my son, who never lacks in imagination or the ability to conjure a battle scene of some sort–drew pirate ships in the act of exploding each other to bits.  Then, he added his own idea of shipboard drama–a pirate ship overflowing with purple colored ” beer, from the barrels, Mom,” he explained when I asked about the purple flood.

We cut the cards apart to the correct 2 1/2″ x 3 1/2 ” dimensions when he finished, the second group drawn vertically was titled “Desert Fire”–his other favorite kind of battle scene.  In the end, There were 5 cards to send to other 6-year-olds in Canada, CA, IL, and NYC, and a special set created for a best friend in Chicago.  And now we have the fun of waiting for all of the Artist’s Cards to arrive in our mailbox.

finished cards--ready to mail!

finished cards--ready to mail!

close-ups

close-ups

out-going mail

out-going mail

