For as long as I’ve been taking pictures with a camera with any kind of seriousness I’ve been thinking about what to keep inside the frame, and what to leave out.  Photographers make all kinds of choices as they snap away–focusing in on the small things, focusing out on the horizon.  As I post pictures here I try to think hard about what I want to show, and what pictures tell the best stories or give the best sense of place and time.  My last post contained a number of the big picture establishing shots, a couple portraits, and a few action shots.  And, just to show that there were moments in flurry of activity where I focused down onto the beautiful/easy to pass over/little things, I included a close-up photo of rocks and shells on the beach.

Here are a few more small wonders:

flowering bush & shadow

flowering bush & shadow

wild cucumber vine

wild cucumber vine

fruiting cactus

fruiting cactus

wildflowers

wildflowers

4 orange poppies

4 orange poppies

California poppies

California poppies

seaweed leftovers

seaweed leftovers

kelp bulbs

kelp bulbs

rock groove

rock groove

the rock I left behind

the rock I left behind

pebbles and shells

pebbles and shells

tree full of pods

tree full of pods

An important part of the big picture, don’t you think!?

