What does a 2 1/2 year old know?  Plenty, believe me.  I’m continually amazed, sometimes even taken aback at what my two year old says and does.  He’s been watching the moves of his older brothers carefully, and it shows.  When he had the art table to himself yesterday afternoon he sat down and started drawing on what would be the sky space of his oldest brother’s drawing (yes another Star Wars picture).  I quickly substituted a set of blank papers for him to use, explaining again that the other paper belonged to his brother–another thing he knows.

He proceeded to make at least 3 more drawings, each one filling the paper with his careful, tiny scribbles.

young artist

young artist

He told me that he was drawing ‘a whale,’ and some of the dense scribbled areas were “Wonder Pets” from the children’s t.v. show, who had been swallowed by the whale.kellys-studios-016

filling the page

filling the page

important scribbles

important scribbles

What grows increasingly clear to me is that even very young children need to be given the chance to be this intentional, to be given the tools (as appropriate) to try it, what ever it is, themselves.

This is why I will never diminish the act of scribbling to “scribble scrabble” as I’ve heard many teachers call it.  Even the tiniest scribbles can have meaning to the tiniest person.kellys-studios-0201

