It’s true that I don’t have a lot of time for art making these days, but it is also true that I make art when I can, as much as I can.  I have so many ‘projects up my sleeves,’ that sometimes I get stuck and don’t make significant progress in any one direction.  I like to think of myself as some kind of crazy artist bird who is building an artistic nest around her eggs, and the art is there too–it just gets obscured and entwined in the nest at odd intervals.  And yes, the eggs are not in the quiet phase these days, they’re in the mouths wide open ‘cheep cheeping’ phase, and I’m frantically flying grubs & worms back and forth.

Sometimes I need a new project just to jolt me away from the threads of the unfinished nest, and with a little deadline pressure I move forward by leaps and bounds and finish the new thing, invigorated to get back to the rest.

Here’s what I’ve been making good progress on:

workbench

workbench

garage studio

garage studio

This may not look like much–especially when I compare it to the pristine, immaculate studios that I’ve seen on certain artist’s blogs, but this open space represents hours of opening, shifting, and otherwise dismantling cardboard boxes to carve out a space for myself.  Phew!!

And here’s my inside space:

cleared drafting table

cleared drafting table

full shelf

full shelf

I’m still dreaming of the perfect work space, but for now having cleared surfaces is key.

Here’s a sneak peek at the art piece of the week—I’ll save the explanation for a later post when the portrait is finished.

sketch of Jean Calvin

sketch of Jean Calvin

Time to get to work!

