These two ‘drawings’ are good examples of partial success– some of the details please me more than the whole.

Drawing 3 is a painting, a watercolor color study of my backyard view to the west:

drawing with painting

drawing with painting

I like these details:

good light

good light

shapes against the sky

shapes against the sky

I wanted to do a faster, bigger, more gestural drawing today, so used the traced monotype technique again (inking up a plexiglass plate with oil-based printmaking ink, drawing on a paper placed on top of the thin layer of ink).  This method produces a beautiful textured line and takes away a bit of control from the artist, and I love that about it.  Because one also has to work fairly quickly while the ink is the right consistency with this kind of monotype, the drawings I produce this way feel more free than those I make with dry materials.

Drawing 4, a self portrait:

windy day, pinecone paperweights

windy day, pinecone paperweights

What it lacks in accuracy, it makes up for in expression…I could list all of the mis-placed/drawn features here, but I won’t.

I like the hair

I like the hair

I’m reminding myself now, this is about the process, not the product.  THE PROCESS!

