Sometimes when I draw from life I like to look for a starting point on the object, and draw from that point outward, until the whole has been covered.  I like the way my eye then has to look carefully for relationships of shapes and lines to each other in the form, moving from one to the next, and so on.  These drawings can be very sensitive to detail and surface, but the overall structure might be off.  I tried this method of seeing for a drawing-in-progress, for days 7, 8, and will continue today.

Here’s the first part of the drawing, a careful study of one of the small plants in my succulent garden:

ink drawing with wash

ink drawing with wash

The plant lent itself nicely to this kind of drawing approach, the pot was more difficult.  Getting the correct perspective on ellipses is always hard, and ink is fairly unforgiving, so I struggled a bit there.

For the next two plants I tried starting with a very light water and ink wash to block in the whole shape before adding darks…the darks are still to come.

ink wash first

ink wash first

For the next day’s drawing I began with a wash again, working into wet areas, or waiting until the layers dried before getting really black with the ink.  Still, I’m struggling with this close-angled perspective.   I may try drawing the succulents again, but differently, just because I’m fascinated by their striking shapes and delicate colors…plant in a pitcher

plant in a pitcher
