We’ve been eating our apples, and our applesauce.  Still, a yucky, non-pig-related bug gave us a visit over the weekend, leaving 2 of the kids down for the count.  As for the rest of us, for now, health is our good companion.  I’ve managed a few tiny drawings in the last few days, figuring that these daily dips into my sketchbook are also good for my health.  I must admit though, that the sketches were drawn in the late evenings while indulging one of my not-so-guilty-pleasures, watching a BBC serial on a Netflix DVD.  The miniseries of the week is called “The House of Elliott,” and is set in Britain in the 1920’s, which means it’s packed with interesting period details.  I tried drawing characters as I watched, fascinated by haircuts, hats, and dramatic eyebrows.

bobs and flappers

bobs and flappers

This kind of quick pen sketch requires a fast eye and hand, and I was most pleased with the really quick sketches, the ones that managed to catch the lines and movement of the figures without being overworked.

hair, neck, shoulder

hair, neck, shoulder

speedy sketch

speedy sketch

After a few of these, I decide to draw my husband’s very still feet propped up on the coffee table, right in from of me, in my living room.

room on the table

room on the table

After I drew the foot sketch, I put my feet up too.

