When things get really quiet around our house it usually means one of two things; either the kids are sleeping, or they are up to something.  Not to say that they never play quietly or engage in activities that are quieter– like drawing or building– it’s just that there are usually lots of sound effects to go along with whatever it is that they are imagining and playing out.

But then there is the quiet that is too quiet.  A couple of days ago we were having a nice relaxed afternoon at home, the boys were playing happily, and I was reading on the couch.  I must have been a little too comfortable (not to mention tired) and I fell asleep.  Then it got too quiet, and suddenly I was awake–a very brief catnap.

I found all  three boys in the other room clustered around the computer, with the oldest diligently trying to search for his favorite ‘Lego Star Wars’ animation to watch.  He knows that he’s not allowed on the computer himself and doesn’t really know what he’s doing once there, but the temptation is great where Star Wars is concerned (and he has learned how to spell those important words + youtube on the keyboard).  Yikes.  This 6 year old’s ability to figure out the technology is a little scary, but luckily he also has a healthy (6 year old) fear of Darth Vader.  We’ve agreed that he’s not ready for the real Star Wars, yet–maybe when he’s seven.

So, caught in the act: big brother on the computer, littlest brother has mom’s camera in hand, and middle brother is sandwiched in between, all on the same office chair.  Yesterday I found 30 photos on my digital camera taken by the littlest guy during that sitting.  I think I’d like to title them “Landscapes of My Brothers,” or alternatively, “In Cahoots.”

Here are my favorites:

button pusher

button pusher

self-portrait

self-portrait

looking up at my brother

looking up at my brother

looking over my brother's shoulder

looking over my brother's shoulder

mouse in hand

mouse in hand

And a few interesting abstractions:

shades

shades

profile

profile

Timmy and the camera 030

pale stripes

pale stripes

red

red

blue light & corduroy

blue light & corduroy

blue wash

blue wash

No harm done in the end–in my mind, a good measure of curiosity is important, and I know that my kids have plenty of oversight.  It’s lucky too that the camera is digital, and the computer is still a mystery of navigation.  There is a time for these things, and it will come soon enough.  This incident makes me wonder if the little guy will take after his camera-loving grandma, and great-grandpa before her…watch out world, he’s got a camera!

