In the spirit of sharing creative ventures and celebrating all things handmade, here’s a quick post to show the gift I made for a friend’s new baby.  I took a page out of my mom’s book and sewed a baby blanket with 2 coordinating fabrics, one on each side.  This blanket is lightweight, all cotton, light yellow on one side and a Lily of the Valley pattern on the reverse.

finished blanket

finished blanket

fancy stitching

fancy stitching

Although my sewing abilities are limited, I’m always willing to give my ideas a try.  For this project my brainwave was to use one of my sewing machine’s decorative stitches to sew a series of gentle curving lines across the blanket at intervals  between the flowers.  I liked the way this added a delicate yellow on yellow pattern and slight wavy texture to the back side of the blanket.  The whole thing came out slightly off-square, and you can see that the corners aren’t perfect, but many good wishes went into every pass of stitching.

My friend seemed well pleased with the only handmade gift at the baby shower, and touched that I would go to the trouble of making one.  No trouble at all, really, just a humble loving gesture, and fun for me too.

smiling at the gift

smiling at the gift

big sister isn't so sure about all the fuss...

big sister isn't so sure about all the fuss...

