Week 1!!

It’s only the first week of summer, and already I’m feeling the need to pull out all of the ‘creative mom’ stops.  Now that I’m imagining it, I like the idea of thinking of myself as some kind of pipe organ that can make music any number of ways depending on which sounds are emphasized…I’ll have to come up with some funny Latin names for each of my ‘stops’ and let you know what they are.  Taking the analogy a step further, I’d have to say that the music I’ve been making this week has had some dissonant moments, and only with careful ‘listening’ has any kind of harmony emerged.

But seriously, in the moments when my job as mother becomes almost too much for me, the only way forward is to find ways to re-group for myself, and re-direct the kids’ negative energies and activities to positive ones.  With that in mind, here are the stops I’ve pulled out this week:

1.  plant something

pumpkin seeds sprouting

pumpkin seeds sprouting

We were so excited to see these little green leaves pop up just days after putting seeds from M’s preschool pumpkin into the ground.  The original pumpkin was a white shelled variety that M painted back in October and we kept on our porch all winter long.  Amazingly, it didn’t rot, but was cracked open by the kids, who then dug out the seeds to plant.

looking at the future pumpkins

looking at the future pumpkins

2.  Plant something for mom

dwarf Delphinium

dwarf Delphinium

Because of the gorgeous color, blue Delphiniums have always been one of my favorite flowers.  Yesterday the boys helped me plant this one in our front garden.  Just digging in the dirt and dead-heading the other flowers was therapeutic for all of us.

3.  paint or draw something

watercolor by 4 year old, 'fireworks'

watercolor by 4 year old, 'fireworks'

2.75 year old draws first 'bad guys'

2.75 year old draws first 'bad guys'

6 year old illustrates his own Star Wars book

6 year old illustrates his own Star Wars book

4.  play time, lots of it, with emphasis on sharing toys (sounds easy, right?)

'a little country town on a hill'

'a little country town on a hill'

the town

the town

5.  Art time for mom–because when mom is happy, everybody is happier!

book of the week

book of the week

When friends ask me how I have time for any art-making, I tell them that I have to make time for it.  It’s just something I need to do.  More about this book project later!

6.  Rest time for everyone— which may or may not include a nap, but includes books and being on beds in separate bedrooms.   Mandatory.

a few more things that we’re doing as often as we can:

7.  Reading time and library visits

8.  Outside time and trips to parks, playgrounds, etc.

9.  Water play–whether with a sprinkler, hose, mini-pool, or spray bottle

10. Time with friends–we all need it!

This list is non-exhaustive, of course, but it is a start.  So from here we’ll take it a day at a time, and would welcome any survival suggestions from the peanut gallery–you know who you are.

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Just as I’m about to hit publish on this post, the little one who is potty training has an ‘accident’ right next to me.  I’ll take a deep breath, leave the computer, deal with the mess, & pull out another one…patience.

