PART II

sand slide

sand slide

What the first group of photos from our Pacific Northwest trip show best, perhaps, is a sense of setting, the beautiful beaches and rugged coastal landscape.  They also show the kid’s activities out-and-about in that place, being themselves.  What I failed to capture, and I realize that the memory in my mind is just as valuable, are all of the things that I was actively a part of.  These included conversations with siblings, cousins, parents, aunts and uncles, group singing (I played the guitar a bit), Scottish Country Dancing, meals cooked and eaten together, a t-shirt painting extravaganza (led by me, with a LOT of help from my sister and cousins, aunts, mom, etc.), and a lot of laughing.  There was something for everyone–and though I didn’t take part in the Nia class taught by my cousin (new and interesting to me, but I had to prep the t-shirt designs), or smoke cigars with the ‘guys’, or any number of other options available, I am grateful for each moment with my family and still amazed at all we packed into our short time together.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

From the Olympic Peninsula we ferried across Puget Sound to Seattle where my brothers live, and where my immediate family gathered again for our own smaller reunion.  So what do you do with Family in the summer time?  We barbequed, ate, played, saw some of the local sights, and ate together some more–backyard picnic style.  What could be better?  We also helped as we could with various projects happening at my brother’s house, all in preparation for a home renovation.  This too is what families do together, and one of the things we miss living far apart is that very ability to physically pitch-in as needed.

Some Seattle shots to tell the story:

boat approaching Seattle's locks

boat approaching Seattle's locks

watching the water rise

watching the water rise

Argosy rises up

Argosy rises up

L catches a wave

L catches a wave

huge salamon approach the fish ladder

huge salmon approach the fish ladder

granpa pillow

grandpa pillow

nephews lured by the water

nephew lured by the water

A has a big idea

A has a big idea-envision bench as seesaw!

It works!

It works!

Don't try the double-stack at home.

Don't try the double-stack at home.

ice cream finale

ice cream finale

boys of summer

boys of summer

this will all look very different a year from now...

this will all look very different a year from now...

goodbye to the boatyards

goodbye to the boatyards

fishermens' monument

fishermens' monument

at the base

at the base

ships and boats

ships and boats

