My northern bones still haven’t adjusted, and I’m not sure if they ever will–to the melting heat of the southern CA desert climate, that is.  This week we’ve been breaking the 100 degree mark every day, and by about noon need to turn on the AC to keep our house cool enough.  Ack.  Not my preferred way of living, but I keep reminding myself that winter is lovely and greener here, and we will hope for a cooling trend soon, to usher in a real fall.

Last week I officially bound my summer up just under the wire before Autumn’s debut on the 21st.  Since July I’d been preparing book sections for a summer journal, with lots of collaged images, drawings by myself and the kids, and notes and phrases to help me remember details of our days.  My friends at Marchen Studios asked if I could teach a Coptic binding workshop to other journalers who might want to bind their own such book pages together.  Of course I jumped at the chance, and five creative souls gathered at the studio with me to learn how to do just that.

sew, a needle pulling thread...

sew, a needle pulling thread...

covers and sections stacked & ready to go

covers and sections stacked & ready to go

coptic binding workshop 004

finished books

finished books

exposed spines

exposed spines

This style of binding is called “single needle Coptic binding” (as opposed to double needle which uses 2 needles simultaneously), and was developed by the Coptic Christians in Egypt in the 2nd Century AD, with continued use through the 11th century.   Modern binders seem to like the Coptic binding for its functional and decorative qualities–I often see these same linked stitches on handmade artists journals and blank books.  For myself, I like the exposed spine for showing off different colored sections and threads, and as the book will open completely flat, I can use it for writing or drawing or anything that suits me.

Here are the two books I made for the workshop:

coptic bound books 003

coptic bound books 004

boys' art

boys' art

some art plus some blank pages

some art plus some blank pages

Here’s to my future book of Autumn, to rain, and to the  leaves that I know are out there (elsewhere), changing !

