Oh what I’d give for a teleporter!  This weekend, one of my favorite people in the world is getting married, and I can’t be there.  This won’t be the first time I’ve had to miss an important family wedding, and it pains me every time.  Certainly, it is not about me, it’s just that I would love to show and give my support for my cousin, the bride.  Instead, I’ll be thinking of all of my loved ones who will be present at the ceremony, and imagining myself in their midst, honoring and celebrating the couple–completely present in spirit.

The last 2 weddings in our extended family have been for the siblings of tomorrow’s bride, and for each one I’ve bound a book for the wedding guests to write their thoughts and good wishes in.   My sister, whose decorative handwriting is much nicer than mine, has helped complete each book with inscriptions and designs on the inside pages.  With each successive wedding, I’ve begun to think of the guest books as emissaries going in my stead, and although a small contribution, one I’m delighted to make.

My talented cousin is, among other things, a dancer, so when I started imagining the form this book would take, I wanted to make some aspect of the book reflect that part of her.  The other big consideration was trying to use the kinds of patterns and papers that best echoed her sense of style, and the colors she chose for this October wedding.

Here is how the finished guest book turned out (before I sent it to my sister on a wing and a prayer, at the very last minute, for her to finish!):

spine view

spine view

between the sections

between the sections

chocolate and strawberry

chocolate and strawberry

red flourish

red flourish

For M & L:   like the book, may you be carefully and beautifully bound together,  and may your lives be filled with color and surprising fountains, and may you always flourish!

the whole thing

the whole thing

*all papers are from The Paper Studio, Tempe, AZ.

Miriam & Larry's guestbook (16)

