Parents relish the times when their kids play well together, because as we all know, sibling harmony comes and goes.  I really love when my boys initiate their own games, and continue playing without needing my mediation or direction, as if in a world of their own.  A couple of days ago I walked into the kitchen to find the younger two boys carefully watching every mark their big brother made on the chalkboard.

“Can you guess what this is?” he asked, halfway through his drawing.

turtle!

"Turtle!"

“It’s actually a desert tortoise.  O.K. let’s try another one.”

erasing

erasing

“What do you think this is going to be?”

October 006

October 007

“Keep guessing!”

October 009

"it's a rabbit!"

"it's a rabbit!"

“My turn.”

"Grass!!"

"Grass!!"

“Wait a second, you’re supposed to let us guess!”

a whole bunch more

a whole bunch more

last one...

last one...

“It’s a whale.”

I stayed out of the way, but could not resist a few pictures.  This is a game I used to play with my art students, so great to see my own kids ‘picking up the chalk’…those art teacher tricks sure do come in handy!

