It seems like every day of October we’ve been thinking and talking about Halloween.  Maybe because our over-eager neighbors put up decorations as early as the last weekend of September, my kids want to know why we haven’t yet.  I told them that I like to wait until the week of Halloween, because it is more fun to surprise people.  It’s true–I like to throw together some last-minute construction, or painting, or door decoration, or just lots of carved pumpkins to celebrate the spooky holiday.   I’ve been doing versions of the same since my sister and I were young teenagers helping decorate the front porch of our childhood home, and I can’t help myself.

The house decorations will wait, but as soon as this weekend, the boys need costumes for a party.  The kids have already decided to be knights, or maybe Musketeers, or possibly a construction worker and two knights…the plan changes daily.  Two days ago they pointed out to me that knights need helmets, swords, and shields (we’ve got the capes and singlets covered) to complete their gear.  Cardboard swords and shields would be easy to do, but we needed a helmet construction idea.  Inspiration hit while we were eating lunch–so I took the kitchen scissors to something I had on hand in the recycling bin…

try these on for size...

try these on for size...

helmets 015A light coat of black then gold spray paint later…

after the paint

after the paint

battle bent nose guard

battle bent nose guard

Ok, so my husband didn’t know whether they were supposed to be pharaoh crowns or knight helmets–he was guessing, and yes,  the shape is not exactly right– but the boys had a great time goofing around in their insta-helmets!

We may re-work these before Halloween, but in the meantime the knights are gearing up.

