Egg decorating the Ukrainian way is an important part of my Easter preparation, and not just in the crafting sense.  Each egg, takes time–sometimes up to three hours apiece.  I find the quiet focused designing and coloring to be meditative and renewing for my soul, in a real spiritual sense.  As of this morning, I’ve only had time to make a first egg, and to teach a nine year old friend and her mother the Psanky techniques for their own eggs.  I love the idea of two “first eggs” and my “first egg” made all together–passing on the Psanky tradition to others is also a favorite part of my Easter observance.

eggs that came from our friend's chicken

Psanky Three

What a beautiful symbol of life the egg is, in it’s white or technicolor shell…  Happy Easter everybody!

Three year old's experiment: egg dropping.