Now that I’ve written “get cracking,” I have to wonder where that particular phrase comes from.  I’m intrigued by word and phrase origins–I’ll have to see what I can find out and write that up later.  Let me know if you have an inkling.

Get cracking is what I’ve been telling myself for weeks, on just about every front:  on the perpetual unpacking/cleaning/organizing front, and on the planning and producing of new art, and the documenting of such projects and processes.  What I have been cracking on is the day-to-day running of the household and managing the kids and all of their stuff.  Finding the time and energy then to tackle my own artist’s realm is sometimes near impossible.  I’m getting there though, and will hope to share photos of my newly spruced up studio space this week.

In the meantime, and as a placeholder and promise of things to come, here is a glimpse of our new surrounds, complete with Fall-like weather, and the stormy gray sky to prove it.

 

pines and palms

 

 

view from the studio

 

 

will be oranges

 

 

bikes behind the garage

 

With the onset of Fall, my fingers get itching, and by hook or by crook, I will get cracking.  Stay tuned!

